Professor Doug MacFarlane

Professor Doug MacFarlane is an ARC Laureate Fellow at Monash University. He is also the program leader of the Energy Program in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science. He holds Adjunct appointments at the University Alabama and Queens University Belfast. He completed his PhD at Purdue University in 1982 and after postdoctoral fellowships in France and New Zealand took up an academic position at Monash in 1983.

Professor MacFarlane was awarded an Australian Research Council Federation Fellowship in 2007 to extend his work on Ionic Liquids and then an ARC Laureate Fellowship in 2012 to continue this work in the field of protic ionic liquids. He was elected to the Australian Academy of Sciences in 2007 and to the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering in 2009. In 2018 he was awarded the Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation.

Professor MacFarlane is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Cap-xx Ltd, Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of Ioteq Inc and is a member of the Board of Governors of the International Society for Solid State Ionics. He is deputy director of the ARC StorEnergy Training Centre.